Yugoslav Drama Theatre

The Yugoslav Drama Theatre (Jugoslovensko Dramsko Pozorište) was born after the World War II, when the new authorities decided to establish a company composed of the most prominent actors from all the important theatre communities and cultural centres of former Yugoslavia. The result was the foundation of the Yugoslav Drama Theatre, following the model of the Moscow Art Theatre with regards to structuring the organization and its artistic policy. Until now, the theatre has always been dedicated to the works of highest literary level.

The theatre’s first artistic director Bojan Stupica defined the basis of the YDT’s repertoire as a theatre strongly oriented towards the works of high literature. Therefore, early seasons were marked by both international and national classics, including works by Chekhov, Goldoni, Sheridan, Ostrovsky, Cankar, Drzic, Sterija, Jaksic and Nusic. All these productions were directed by leading contemporary directors such as Bojan Stupica, Mata Milosevic, Tomislav Tanhofer or Miroslav Belovic. In 2001, Gorčin Stojanović was appointed artistic director, and joined by Tamara Vučković Manojlović who took over the position of general manager in 2014.

In 2006, the Yugoslav Drama Theatre became a member of the UTE.


Member since 2006
Directors: Gorčin Stojanović and Tamara Vuckovic Manojlovic

Belgrade, Serbia
Yugoslav Drama Theatre
Jugoslovensko Dramsko Pozorište
Kralja Milana, 50
11000 Belgrade Serbia
Tel: +381 11 30 61 994
Fax: +381 11 30 61 991
E-mail: jdppr@jdp.rs www.jdp.rs